Blooming Books by Raymond Briggs

From his first published illustration in 1958 through to the pieces that he continues to produce today, Blooming Books is a stunning and varied exploration of the work of this brilliant and talented artist.

Commentary from the journalist Nicolette Jones accompanies extracts and complete picture books, with details on the background to Brigg’s work and the underlying themes. Following an intro from Jones and a foreword from Briggs, the book is laid out in four main parts: The Early Years (including The Elephant and the Bad Baby), The Nursery Classics (The Snowman, The Bear, Father Christmas), A Gallery of Characters (Fungus, Ug, The Man), and Social Issues (Where the Wind Blows, The Old Iron Woman, Ethel & Ernest).

You’ll find all of Brigg’s work here, from his captivating illustrations for children, to his sharp witted satirical works for adults. Familiar favourites are pictured alongside previously unseen pieces, including prep drawings for published titles and original work for planned sequels to the beloved Fungus the Bogeyman.

About Raymond Briggs

Raymond Redvers Briggs is an English illustrator, cartoonist, graphic novelist, and author who has enjoyed critical acclaim for his popular books for children and adults. He is probably best known for “The Snowman” which is shown every Christmas on British TV.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Cranleigh Magazine